Ecological Pieces

Roots and flowers

In the years 1960-70, a new step began with the roots and the protruding flowers. Frans Krajcberg discovered in the strength of the rhizome a vital, secular, restless and aggressive energy which suited him. However, he sees the flower as a death messenger. His flowers arise from twisted trunks, while the roots become distorted and bruised. 

 

"He made death into life, life into art", says Federico Morais in the exhibition catalog of Frans Krajcberg’s works at the Museum of Modern Art of Rio de Janeiro in 1965. According to critics, the roots seemed “to want to shout, with the same intensity as they violate earth in its vanishing rhizomatic lines.”  

 

Polished wood

Settled in Nova Viçosa, Frans Krajcberg made his first “polished wood”, assemblages of dead wood from which he draws architectural lines: hollow trees or mangroves, devoured by light. 

“When I saw the mangroves, I was impressed. I come from Tachisme, from Abstraction in Paris. How to capture the life of these forms, their movements and vibrations? Soto succeeded in the “penetrable” in the forecourt of the MAM in Paris. In this white vibration, I found the Amazon rainforest”.

Fragments Écologiques 

Racines et fleurs

Dans les années 1960-70, une nouvelle étape s'ouvre avec les racines et les fleurs saillantes.  Frans Krajcberg a découvert dans la force du rhizome, une énergie vitale, séculaire, agitée et agressive qui lui convient. En revanche, il voit la fleur comme un messager de mort. Ses fleurs surgissent de troncs tordus, alors que les racines deviennent des fleurs, déformées et meurtries.

 

"Il a fait de la mort la vie, de la vie, de l'art" dit Federico Morais dans le catalogue de l'exposition des œuvres de Frans Krajcberg au Musée d'Art Moderne de Rio de Janeiro en 1965.  Ses racines, selon le critique, semblaient « vouloir crier, avec la même intensité qu'elles violent la terre dans ses lignes de fuite rhizomatiques ».

 

Bois polis

Installé à Nova Viçosa, Frans Krajcberg réalise ses premiers "bois polis", assemblages de bois morts dont il dégage des lignes architecturales : arbres creux ou palétuviers, dévorés de lumière.

« Quand j'ai vu les palétuviers, j'ai été impressionné. Je viens du Tachisme, de l'Abstraction de Paris. Comment capter la vie de ces formes, leurs changements et vibrations ? Soto y est arrivé dans le "pénétrable" du parvis du MAM de Paris. Dans cette vibration blanche, je retrouvais la forêt amazonienne ».

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

" Le regard sur l'Objet ou l'être de nature est un acte artistique, car l'art de voir est en soi créatif : il s'apprend, se pratique, se cultive et se transmet ". Frans Krajcberg 

contact@espacekrajcberg.fr                                                                               +33 9 50 58 42 22                                                                                                                                    Paris, France