Films & Photographs

1 (49).jpg

Frans Krajcberg, November 2011

Frans Krajcberg finds in photography a way to accomplish his artistic mission with a weapon far more powerful than aesthetics. His testimony is indisputable and can be reproduced endlessly. He does not consider himself a photographer, despite the high quality of his images. Photography is an ideal tool to denounce the drama in progress: the destruction of nature, a frozen image of a world that is disappearing forever.  

Behind the lens, Frans Krajcberg has preserved an undisturbed force of wonder, gaze and soul on permanent alert. Every day, he works his gaze as an artist and feeds into his “revolt” by tirelessly photographing the details of this fascinating nature, which he admires so much the resilience. Photography has become essential for him to alert on a large scale and transmit his message to future generations. 

Pierre Restany, in the Rio Negro Manifesto, evokes the humility and availability of the photographer’s gaze: “ To practice this availability in relation to the natural is to admit the modesty of human perception and its own limits, in relation to a whole that is an end in itself. This discipline in the awareness of one’s own limits is the first quality of the good reporter . » 

 

Thousands of photographs taken by Frans Krajcberg show nature deliberately destroyed by man. Fire is real and the destructive action is irrecoverable. The pictures do not only reveal the horror, they also confront the beauty of nature and its disappearance; the diversity of colors of the lands of Minas Gerais and the blackness of the burns of Paraná; the magic and transparency of indestructible stones and the ephemeral time of a flower; the fragility of a young shoot and the ashes of a thousand-year-old tree.  

 

The macro-photographic technique he uses gives striking images that reveal the smallest  particle in movement: the veins of a leaf, the pistil of a flower, the texture of soil, the path of small animals and insects, the traces of a snake on the ground, the labyrinth of a spider’s web, the transparency of the skin of a larva... 

 

His films allow him to capture movements of life in slow motion, almost motionless, with a fascinated gaze following the slightest quiver. His camera gives him a new tool to capture the imperceptible movements of water, wind or light. Under his eye appear pictorial works, often abstract, with a perfectly mastered plastic beauty.  

 

Films and photographs magnify life even when images testify destruction: trees have lost their original verticality to form a new landscape, white grounds - products of burning - have taken the place of green expanses ... the plant world has transformed into a mineral world, emptied of all animal substance... but a leaf emerges, a flower is reborn... in the midst of ashes ... life reappears , infinitely fragile and beautiful. 

 

Once again, Frans Krajcberg chooses to rise, to reveal, to prove and to resist. "My work is a manifesto. I don’t know how to write, I’m not a politician... I must find the image that characterizes my cry of revolt. Photography has helped me capture the moment of beauty, of destruction, to record what is disappearing."

Films & Photographies 

Frans Krajcberg, novembre 2011

Frans Krajcberg trouve dans la photographie un moyen d’accomplir sa mission artistique avec une arme autrement plus puissante que la seule esthétique. Son témoignage est indiscutable et peut être reproduit à l’infini. Il ne se considère pas comme photographe, malgré la grande qualité de ses images. La photo est l’outil idéal pour dénoncer le drame en train de se dérouler : la destruction de la nature, image figée d’un monde qui disparait à jamais. 

 

Derrière l’objectif, Frans Krajcberg a conservé une force d’émerveillement intacte, des yeux et une âme en alerte perpétuelle. Tous les jours, il travaille son regard d’artiste et nourrit sa « révolte » en photographiant inlassablement les détails de cette nature qui le fascine et dont il admire la force de résilience. La photo lui est devenue indispensable pour alerter à grande échelle et transmettre son message aux générations futures. 

Pierre Restany, dans le Manifeste du Rio Negro, évoque l'humilité et la disponibilité de son regard de photographe : « Pratiquer cette disponibilité par rapport au donné naturel, c'est admettre la modestie de la perception humaine et ses propres limites, par rapport à un tout qui est une fin en soi. Cette discipline dans la conscience de ses propres limites est la qualité première du bon reporter. »

 

Des milliers de photographies prises par Frans Krajcberg montrent la nature détruite volontairement par l’homme. Le feu, est une « réalité » dont l’action de destruction est irrécupérable. Les clichés ne révèlent pas seulement l'horreur, ils mettent en confrontation la beauté de la nature et sa disparition ; la diversité des couleurs des terres du Minas Gerais et la noirceur des brûlis du Paraná ; la magie et la transparence des pierres indestructibles et la durée éphémère d'une fleur ; la fragilité d’une jeune pousse et les cendres d'un vieil arbre millénaire. 

 

La technique macro-photographique qu’il utilise donne des images saisissantes révélant la moindre particule en mouvement : les nervures d'une feuille, le pistil d'une fleur, la texture d'une terre, le parcours des petits animaux et des insectes, les traces d’un serpent sur le sol, le labyrinthe d'une toile d'araignée, la transparence de la peau d'une larve…

 

Plus rares, ses films lui permettent de capter les mouvements de la vie au ralenti, de façon quasi immobile, regard fasciné suivant le plus infime frémissement. Sa caméra lui offre un nouvel outil pour capter les mouvements imperceptibles de l’eau, du vent ou de la lumière. Sous son œil apparaissent des œuvres picturales, souvent abstraites, à la beauté plastique parfaitement maitrisée. 

 

Films et photographies magnifient la vie même lorsque les images témoignent de la destruction: les arbres ont perdu leur verticalité originelle pour former un nouveau paysage ; des terres blanches -produits des brûlis-  ont pris la place des étendues verdoyantes …le monde végétal s'est transformé en monde minéral, vidé de toute substance animale…mais une feuille émerge, une fleur renait… au milieu des cendres… la vie réapparait, infiniment fragile et belle.

 

Frans Krajcberg, encore une fois, choisit de monter, révéler pour prouver et résister. « Mon œuvre est un manifeste. Je ne sais pas écrire, je ne suis pas un politicien… Je dois trouver l'image qui caractérise mon cri de révolte. La photo m'a aidé à capter le moment de la beauté, de la destruction, à enregistrer ce qui disparaît. »

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

" Le regard sur l'Objet ou l'être de nature est un acte artistique, car l'art de voir est en soi créatif : il s'apprend, se pratique, se cultive et se transmet ". Frans Krajcberg 

contact@espacekrajcberg.fr                                                                               +33 9 50 58 42 22                                                                                                                                    Paris, France