Paintings-assemblages

Frans Krajcberg’s paintings-assemblages proceed from the same approach: to bring back to life the dead. The smallest natural detail that our eye forgets to look at can allow us to reconnect with nature. Different elements gathered in the midst of nature - stones, lianas, corals, leaves, wood… - become full universes that the light or the imperceptible movement of an insect rejuvenates. 

 

Red flowers. 

In the 1960s, in Paris, Frans Krajcberg produced a first series of paintings / assemblages made of sculpted flowers, covered with red natural pigments, color of fire and strength. His approach is closer to reproduction than to reappropriation. His painted flowers give off a violence that associates the force of life - red - with a symbol of death, because for him the flower carries something morbid in it.  ​

 

Assemblage-paintings of natural fragments 

Frans Krajcberg works on his paintings-assemblages, made of natural pieces, by applying an alloy of soil and glue, on sun-dried paper, on which they are redrawn. He can also make simple collages on wooden panels. His “assemblage-paintings” are a scenography of the presented elements,  underlining their natural beauty to develop new forms, new universes, new messages.  ​

 

His first stone paintings show the living and vibrant stone without artifice. Material and color are raw. No work is made from the same stones. He meticulously harvests quartz, granites, amethysts, crystals ... Transparent or opaque, round or pointed, the stones reveal a world of forms, of unequalled colors and unsuspected vibrations. 

 

According to Thérèse Vian, “ Krajcberg’s stone paintings are a silent invitation to endless reverie, a space for reflection that opens up on Nature, on Man, the visible and the invisible. A reverie of solidity, hardness and resistance, which, related to his work, would highlight his painful past, always underlying. This past which never leaves him and which would have made him, in appearance, as hard and as sharp as a stone. This desire to evoke cutting images undoubtedly reveals for the artist the need to operate a real surgical operation which would cut in the deep of this painful past. The stone would therefore have had a liberating role for the artist who no longer has the same need to use it at the end of his life. It will continue to be present in his later works, but no longer in such a prominent way. It will only be an aesthetic element of adornment, which will beautify his burnt trees.” 

 

“My conclusion is that I am poorer than nature because it creates much more than I do. I saw all the shapes that we think we are inventing and we are not inventing anything. I wanted to dominate it. I made paintings with stones in Minas Gerais and I saw that in nature itself they were much more expressive, much more alive than the paintings I had made, so I gave up", Frans Krajcberg.

Tableaux-assemblages 

Les tableaux-assemblages de Frans Krajcberg procèdent de la même démarche : faire revivre ce qui est mort. Le moindre détail naturel, que notre œil oublie de regarder, peut nous permettre de nous reconnecter à la nature. Les éléments disparates, ramassés en peine nature - pierres, lianes, coraux, feuilles, bois…-  deviennent des univers à part entière auxquels la lumière ou le mouvement imperceptible d’un insecte redonnent vie. 

 

Les fleurs rouges

Dans les années 1960, à Paris, Frans Krajcberg réalise une première série de tableaux /assemblages faits de fleurs sculptées, recouvertes de pigments naturels de couleur rouge, couleur du feu et de la force. Sa démarche est plus proche de la reproduction que de la réappropriation. Ses fleurs peintes dégagent une violence qui associe la force de la vie – le rouge– à un symbole de la mort, car  pour lui la fleur porte en elle quelque chose de morbide. 

Tableaux-assemblages de fragments naturels

Frans Krajcberg travaille ses tableaux-assemblages faits de fragments naturels en appliquant un alliage de terre et colle, sur du papier séché au soleil, sur lequel ils sont redessinés. Il peut également réaliser de simples collages sur des panneaux de bois. Ses « tableaux-assemblages » « scénographient » les éléments présentés, soulignent leur beauté naturelle pour développer de nouvelles formes, de nouveaux univers, de nouveaux messages.  

Ses premiers tableaux de pierres montrent la pierre vivante et vibrante sans artifice. Matière et couleur sont brutes. Aucune œuvre n’est réalisée à partir des mêmes pierres. Il récolte minutieusement quartz, granits, améthystes, cristaux... Transparentes ou opaques, rondes ou pointues, les pierres révèlent un monde de formes, de couleurs inégalables et des vibrations insoupçonnées.

 

Selon Thérèse Vian, « les tableaux de pierres de Krajcberg sont une silencieuse invitation à une rêverie sans fin, un espace de réflexion qui s'ouvre sur la Nature, sur l'Homme, le visible et l'invisible. Une rêverie de solidité, de dureté et de résistance, qui,  rapportée  à son œuvre, mettrait en exergue son passé douloureux, toujours sous-jacent. Ce passé qui ne le quitte jamais et qui l'aurait rendu, en apparence, aussi dur et coupant que la pierre. Cette volonté d'évoquer des images coupantes révèle, sans doute, chez l'artiste le besoin d'opérer une véritable opération chirurgicale qui trancherait dans le vif de ce passé douloureux. La pierre aurait donc eu un rôle libératoire pour l'artiste qui n'a plus, à la fin de sa vie, le même besoin de l'utiliser. Elle continuera d'être présente dans ses travaux ultérieurs, mais plus de façon aussi prégnante. Elle ne sera plus qu'un élément de parure esthétique, qui embellira ses arbres calcinés ». 

 

« Ma conclusion est que je suis plus pauvre que la nature, qu'elle crée beaucoup plus que moi. J'y voyais toutes les formes que nous croyons inventer et nous n'inventons rien. Je voulais la dominer. Je faisais des tableaux avec des pierres à Minas Gerais et je voyais que dans la nature même elles étaient beaucoup plus expressives, beaucoup plus vivantes que les tableaux que j'avais fait, alors j'ai abandonné », Frans Krajcberg.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

" Le regard sur l'Objet ou l'être de nature est un acte artistique, car l'art de voir est en soi créatif : il s'apprend, se pratique, se cultive et se transmet ". Frans Krajcberg 

contact@espacekrajcberg.fr                                                                               +33 9 50 58 42 22                                                                                                                                    Paris, France