The works of Frans Krajcberg are a cry of alert and a cry for hope. He never stopped denouncing the plundering of natural resources by man, while illustrating Nature’s astonishing capacity for resilience. 

WORKS TOUR  

For the first time since November 2018, we are presenting the complete donation of the works Frans Krajcberg gave to the City of Paris; a set of sculptures and paintings emblematic of his work: 

IMPRINTS of rocks, and in particular, the painting thanks to which Frans Krajcberg won the Venice Biennale in 1964.

ROH_0554.JPG

- "TABLEAUX-ASSEMBLAGES" stones, soil and other natural elements: lianas, leafs leaves, barks, Amazonian corals, Minas Gerais quartz.. 

ROH_0592.JPG

REVOLTS, amous sculptures made from wood “rescued” from the fires of in the Amazon rainforest, enhanced with natural pigments.

ROH_0593.JPG
ROH_0541.JPG

- SHADOWS : paintings and sculptures in which Frans Krajcberg plays with the shadows cast on his sculptures, and that he loved to rework with the seasons. His work seems to pursue an interminable quest: to resurrect the dead.​

ECOLOGICAL COMMITMENT AND FILMS  

 

The presentation of Frans Krajcberg’s works is accompanied and completed with films, founding texts and photographs showing Frans Krajcerg’s ecological commitment. ​

 

- videos by Frans Krajcberg: he only worked with natural elements, which he enhanced with pigments taken directly from the mines of Minas Gerais in Brazil. Several videos of the artist show his fascination for open-air pallets.  He made his first macro photographs, highlighting the details of nature that captivated him.  ​

 

- documentary films: our projection room permanently hosts a documentary on Frans Krajcberg, an introduction to his life and to his work. “The camera follows him everywhere: at home, in his studio, on his installations, in search of materials, places…It dives into archives and photos, to paint a portrait of an original artist through his way of life today ”.  

“Portrait of a revolt” by Maurice Dubroca, produced by Éric Darmon (Mémoire Magnétique production, 2004, 52 min)  who received the UNESCO Documentary Prize in 2004. 

 

We continuously broadcast the documentary “Promenades”, 9 times 5 minutes in which we follow Frans Krajcberg in his Brazilian daily life: his perched house, his workshop in Nova Viçosa, his favorite tree and his traveling companions ...  

“Promenades”, directed by Eric Darmon and Guillaume Diamant-Berger, images Eric Darmon, produced by Mémoire Magnétique and Espace Frans Krajcberg, 2013.  

 

Benches and chairs are available. Have a seat and enjoy.  

- MANIFESTOS OF INTEGRAL NATURALISM: It is the first text written in 1978 by Pierre Restany, based on the work of Frans Krajcberg. He already invited artists to fight against the pollution of our century. The New Manifesto of Integral Naturalism written in 2013 by Frans Krajcerg and Claude Mollard radicalised the terms.

- PHOTOGRAPHS BY FRANS KRAJCBERG: For more than fifty years, Frans Krajcberg stood against deforestation, especially in the Amazon, putting all his work and his notoriety at the service of his struggle. We present at Espace Frans Krajcberg a selection of photographs he took on the spot, in the middle of the flames.

Frans Krajcberg’s work was also hopeful: inviting us to be inspired by nature’s capacity for resilience, in order to be awakened to the wonders of the world.  He tirelessly photographed thousands of details that amazed him daily.  We also show some samples.  

IMG0107.jpg

CONSULTATION / DOCUMENTATION

 

Espace Frans Krajcberg has a bookstore corner, where you can consult books on Frans Krajcberg, as well as a selection of works on Art, nature and ecology.  

Frans Krajcberg is one of the greatest Brazilian artists of the 20th century. Come and discover his life and his works!

Les œuvres de Frans Krajcberg sont un cri d’alerte et d’espoir. Il n’a jamais cessé de dénoncer le pillage des ressources naturelles par l’homme, tout en illustrant l’étonnante capacité de résilience de la Nature.

PARCOURS D'OEUVRES 

Nous présentons pour la première fois depuis novembre 2018 la donation complète des œuvres que Frans Krajcberg à confiées la Ville de Paris ; un ensemble de sculptures et tableaux emblématiques de son travail :

- des EMPREINTES de roches, et notamment le tableau grâce auquel Frans Krajcberg a gagné la Biennale de Venise en 1964 ! 

- des TABLEAUX ASSEMBLAGES de pierres, terre et autres éléments naturels : lianes, écorces feuilles, coraux d’Amazonie, quartz de Minas Gerais ... 

- des RÉVOLTES, célèbres sculptures réalisées à partir de bois « rescapés » des incendies de la forêt amazonienne, rehaussées de pigments naturels 

- des OMBRES : tableaux et sculptures où Frans Krajcberg joue avec les ombres portées sur ses sculptures qu’il aimait retravailler au rythme des saisons. Son œuvre semble poursuivre une interminable quête : faire revivre ce qui est mort.​

ENGAGEMENT ÉCOLOGIQUE ET FILMS 

 

La présentation des oeuvres de Frans Krajcberg est accompagnée et complétées par des films, des textes fondateurs et des photographies montrant l’engagement écologique de Frans Krajcerg.

- des vidéos de Frans Krajcberg : il ne travaillait qu’à partir d’éléments naturels, qu’il rehaussait de pigments puisés directement dans les mines du Minas Gerais au Brésil. Plusieurs vidéos de l’artiste montrent sa fascination pour ces palettes à ciel ouvert. C’est là qu’il a réalisé ses premières macrophotographies, mettant en valeur les détails de la nature qui le subjugue. 

- des films documentaires : notre salle de projection accueille en permanence un documentaire sur Frans Krajcberg, introduction à sa vie et son œuvre.   « La caméra le suit partout : chez lui, dans son atelier, sur ses installations, à la recherche des matériaux, des lieux… Elle plonge dans les archives et les photos, pour dresser le portrait d’un artiste original à travers sa manière de vivre aujourd’hui ». 

« Portrait d’une révolte » de Maurice Dubroca, produit par Éric Darmon (Mémoire Magnétique production, 2004, 52 min) et qui a reçu le Prix UNESCO du documentaire en 2004.

Nous diffusons en continu le documentaire « Promenades », 9 fois 5 minutes où nous suivons Frans Krajcberg dans son quotidien brésilien : sa maison perchée, son atelier de Nova Viçosa, son arbre préféré et ses compagnons de route … 

« Promenades », réalisé par Eric Darmon et Guillaume Diamant-Berger, images Eric Darmon, produit par Mémoire Magnétique et l’Espace Frans Krajcberg, 2013.  

 

Des bancs et chaises sont disponibles ! Installez-vous confortablement et profitez ! 

- Les MANIFESTES DU NATURALISME INTÉGRAL : le premier texte écrit en 1978 par Pierre REstany à partir de l’oevre de Frans Krajcberg, où il invitait, déjà, les artistes à lutter contre la pollution de notre siècle. Et le Nouveau manifeste du Naturalisme intégral de 2013, écrit par Frans Krajcerg et Claude Mollard, qui en radicalisent les termes. 

- Les PHOTOGRAPHIES DE FRANS KRAJCBERG : pendant plus cinquante ans, Frans Krajcberg s’est insurgé contre la déforestation, notamment en Amazonie, mettant toute son œuvre et sa notoriété au service de son combat. Nous présentons à l’espace Frans Krajcberg  -une sélection de photographies qu’il a prises sur place, au milieu des flammes.

Mais l’œuvre de Frans Krajcberg était aussi porteuse d’espoir : nous invitant à nous inspirer de la capacité de résilience de la nature et afin d’éveiller nos regards aux merveilles du monde, il photographiait sans relâche les milles détails qui l’émerveillait au quoitidien, et dont nous présentons également quelques échantillons. 

CONSULTATION / DOCUMENTATION

 

L’Espace Frans Krajcberg dispose d'un « coin librairie », où vous pouvez consulter sur place les livres sur Frans Krajcberg, ainsi qu’une sélection d’ouvrages sur l’Art, la nature et l’écologie. 

Frans Krajcberg est l’un des plus grands artistes brésiliens du XXème siècle. Venez découvrir sa vie et ses œuvres ! 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

" Le regard sur l'Objet ou l'être de nature est un acte artistique, car l'art de voir est en soi créatif : il s'apprend, se pratique, se cultive et se transmet ". Frans Krajcberg 

contact@espacekrajcberg.fr                                                                               +33 9 50 58 42 22                                                                                                                                    Paris, France