Shadows

In Paris, in the 1960s, Frans Krajcberg began to work on his “cut shadows”. Shadow is a way of freeing the work from its frame while giving life to dead elements magnified by light. 

 

With an astonishing plastic modernity, the cut-out silhouette is both negation and affirmation of the painting. “The idea came to me in Minas, but it was in Paris that I made my first cast shadows. I wanted to break the square, get out of the frame. I had more than one reason to do it. Nature ignores squares,  movement turns. (…) Life is not square and has no fixed forms. (…) The abstraction of squares accompanied the revolutions of the beginning of the century, as Expressionism accompanied the misery. I have always had an expressionist sensibility and I have never recognized myself in Concretism. I didn’t want art for the sake of art. I wanted to find new forms. Nature offered me thousands. "

T010_100dpi_26cm.jpg

Frans Krajcberg, black lianas (Drop Shadow series). Lianas, plywood and natural pigments (manganese), 1982, 245 x 113 x 40 cm.

The technique consists in capturing the shadow of a natural element (root, branch, seed… whose shape fascinated him), drawn with a line, then cut in a wooden support. The element, fixed on the support, gives relief and volume. The assembled parts are often painted in a bright color that unites them closely. Together they evoke time, space, the fragility of life ... 

The shadows remove any idea of opposition between Art and Nature: “By cutting and projecting the shadows, he opens a new form of contemplation of nature, contemplation which allows to associate the internal rhythms of nature to the rhythms created by the artist” (Federico MORAIS, 2004).  

 

“I owe more to Arp’s cut-outs than to Matisse’s cut-outs. (…)  My research consisted in trying out different lighting to choose a shadow. There is an infinity of them. No man makes the same shadow and the shadow of the same man is always moving. I wanted to unify the object with its shadow. I tried to find the object in its shadow. I searched in nature the possibility to renew the life of art by uniting with different forms captured from it. The drop shadows added a form to it. It was my contribution”.  

In the first pieces, the cutting with the hard, “constructive” or “concrete” geometry, is opposed to natural lines fluidity the form underlines. Over the years, it was closer to it, as a blueprint of a side lighting.  

 

Frans Krajcberg worked with shadows for about 20 years, but will return to it constantly until the end of his life. He observes, studies and tests all the possibilities offered by this technique. He uses wood flowers from the Itabira region (MG), mangroves from Nova Viçosa (BA) and lianas from the Amazon. Sometimes he adds piassava fibers. 

 

This production, according to Féderico Morais can be grouped into three groups: 

“in the first, works with a clear opposition between the baroque style of the floral sets and the rigidity of the orthogonal supports, are fragmented into two or more parts. 

A second group gathers the pieces in which the shadows act directly upon the support,  progressively wearing it out as they perforate it. In both cases, the composition is frontal and the shadows work in depth. 

A third block groups the works in which the projected shadows move away, almost coming out of the support, as if it were a profile drawing, a graphic that becomes viable in space, in three dimensions.”

Ombres 

A Paris, dans les années 1960, Frans Krajcberg commence à travailler ses « ombres découpées ». L’ombre est une façon de libérer l'œuvre de son cadre tout en redonnant vie à des éléments morts magnifiés par la lumière.

 

Avec une étonnante modernité plastique, la silhouette découpée, est à la fois la négation et l'affirmation du tableau. « L'idée m'en était venue dans le Minas, mais c'est à Paris que j'ai fait mes premières ombres portées. Je voulais éclater le carré, sortir du cadre. J'avais plus d'une raison pour le faire. La nature ignore le carré, le mouvement tourne. (…) La vie n'est pas carrée et n'a pas de formes fixes. (…) L'abstraction du carré a accompagné les révolutions du début du siècle, comme l'Expressionnisme en accompagnait la misère. J'ai toujours eu une sensibilité expressionniste et je ne me suis jamais reconnu dans le Concrétisme. Je ne voulais pas l'art pour l'art. Je voulais trouver des formes nouvelles. La nature m'en offrait des milliers. »

Frans Krajcberg, lianes noires (série Ombre portée). Lianes, contreplaqué et pigments naturels (manganèse), 1982, 245 x 113 x 40 cm. 

La technique consiste à capter l’ombre portée d’un élément naturel (racine, branche, graine…dont la forme l’a fasciné), dessinée au trait, puis découpée dans un support de bois. L’élément, fixé sur le support lui apporte relief et volumes. Les deux parties assemblées sont souvent peintes d’une couleur vive qui les unit étroitement. Réunies elles évoquent le temps, l'espace, la fragilité de la vie...

Les ombres suppriment toute idée d’opposition entre Art et la Nature : "En coupant et en projetant les ombres, il ouvre une nouvelle forme de contemplation de la nature, contemplation qui permet d'associer les rythmes internes de la nature aux rythmes créés par l'artiste" (Federico MORAIS, 2004). 

 

« Je dois plus aux bois découpés de Arp qu'aux papiers découpés de Matisse. (…)  Ma recherche consistait à essayer des éclairages pour choisir une ombre. Il y en a une infinité. Aucun homme ne fait la même ombre et l'ombre du même homme bouge toujours. Je voulais unifier l'objet à son ombre. Je cherchais à retrouver l'objet dans son ombre. Je cherchais dans la nature une possibilité de renaître à la vie de l'art en s'unissant à des formes différentes mais captées d'elle. L'ombre portée lui ajoutait une forme. C'était ma participation »

Dans les premières pièces, la découpe à la géométrie dure, "constructive" ou "concrétiste" s’oppose à la fluidité des lignes naturelles de la forme qu’elle souligne. Au fil des années elle s’en rapproche au plus près, telle l’épure d’un éclairage latéral. 

 

Frans Krajcberg travaille les ombres pendant environ 20 ans, mais y reviendra sans cesse jusqu’à la fin de sa vie. Il observe, étudie et teste toutes les possibilités offertes par cette technique. Il utilise des fleurs de bois de la région d'Itabira (MG), des mangroves de Nova Viçosa (BA) et des lianes de l'Amazonie. Parfois il ajoute des fibres de piassava.

 

Cette production, selon Féderico Morais peut être regroupée en trois groupes :

« dans les premières, il y a les œuvres où prévaut une nette opposition entre le baroquisme des ensembles floraux et la rigidité des supports orthogonaux, qui sont fragmentés en deux ou plusieurs parties.

Un second groupe rassemble les pièces dans lesquelles les ombres agissent directement sur le support, l'usant au fur et à mesure qu'elles le perforent.  Dans les deux cas, la composition est frontale et les ombres travaillent en profondeur.

Un troisième bloc regroupe les œuvres dans lesquelles les ombres projetées s'éloignent, se détachant presque du support, comme s'il s'agissait d'un dessin de profil, un graphique qui devient viable dans l'espace, en trois dimensions ».

  • Twitter Icône sociale
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

" Le regard sur l'Objet ou l'être de nature est un acte artistique, car l'art de voir est en soi créatif : il s'apprend, se pratique, se cultive et se transmet ". Frans Krajcberg 

contact@espacekrajcberg.fr                                                                               +33 9 50 58 42 22                                                                                                                                    Paris, France